BRICS to meet at G20

During his visit to Australia for the G20, Vladimir Putin is scheduled to hold a separate meeting with the leaders of BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa), as well as a number of working contacts with other counterparts, including French President Francois Hollande and British Prime Minister David Cameron.

The Group of Twenty, or G20, is a leading international forum specializing in global economy and finances. It consists of the world’s largest advanced and emerging economies, which represent some two-thirds of the world’s population, 85% of global gross domestic product and more than 75% of global trade.

The G20 members are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.

Last year, Russia was the G20 chair. In early 2014, it delegated the chair’s powers to Australia.

Brisbane, situated on the eastern coast of Australia, is the capital of the state of Queensland. A city with a population of over 2 million people is the third populous city in Australia.

Putin will arrive in Brisbane from the Russian Far Eastern city of Vladivostok, where he held a meeting on shipbuilding the day before.

Prior to that, he visited Beijing, which hosted the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) summit.